e6So here we are in the middle of the long Easter week end, Saturday. It is a time of one of he most important commemorations in the Christian calendar. Tomorrow, Easter Sunday will be the anniversary of the resurrection of Jesus Christ. This day looms large for Christians regardless of stripe. I do hope you have a very Happy Easter.

**********

A COUPLE OF TRAVEL NOTES:

I can’t remember if I mentioned in my series of travel blogs if I spoke about the Celebrity cruise we took to Alaska last fall. It was what Celebrity calls a “Reunion Cruise”. I had never heard of it, and everyone I spoke with including Celebrity had no idea that cruise was special. Special it is, since Celebrity only does one a year, and it is loaded with perks, and special programs for the people of the Captains Club. If you get at chance to go on one of these do not pass it up, there is one for this year and I think it goes to the fiords in Europe.

**********

There was an excellent article in the National Geographic Traveller a month or so ago, on cruising, and if you can find a copy at your library, be sure to look into it. I tried to find a link to the article, but it was denied to me.

**********

I know I have mentioned Cruise Critic in my blog, but I am going to add it in again. A great source for cruise information. Cruise Critic

**********

Should you be travelling in times like we are experiencing today, you may just want to find out what your government has doe for you regarding safety in these places you are going to see. Great site, all in one place: Travel advisories

RECENT BOOKS

Right now I am reading the book on Chris Kyle, his autobiography. It is the American Sniper. Very graphic in the depiction, going over his training to become a Navy Seal, and how he became a sniper in Afghanistan. Good story so far.

**********

The last book I read was by Lisa Jackson, the first one hers I have read. Not a bad story set in New Orleans, and you do get the feel for N.O from the book. Deals with the murders of some nuns in an old church in N.O. Lots of suspects and no motives.

ODDS AND ENDS

I got a magazine from a neighbour, called the Philadelphia Trumpet, and no, it is not about Donald Trump. Mostly it a kind of low key Christian tract. Not too preachy though. I did notice a couple of small items I thought worth adding to the blog. Makes me think their might e hope after all!

  • Success Academy charter school students in New York City will now be subjected to an ‘old school’ kind of teaching method, similar to the kind I got as a child and if you are of an age, you will know what I mean. You study, you hand in your homework on time, you may get a detention to stay in to get your stuff done, and on time, in other words you are expected to be in school to learn. If a student has trouble paying attention in class, the student is moved to the front of the class. So far the results are exceeding expectations! Good for them, we need more schools and teachers like them.

  • I know of a number of people that are in denial when it comes to getting vaccinations. I got all mine as a kid growing up, and when a new one like the Polio Vaccine was introduced I got that too. More recently I got my annual flu shot, had had my pneumonia shot, and the one for shingles. As memory serves me, all were free except the Shingles shot.
    If nobody had had these shots over the years, we would still have small pox, diphtheria, polio, and much more. Well, Australia has decided the vaccines offered are more important to the population than some naysayers, who for whatever reason decline getting the shots. Australia has decided that if the kids are not immunized they will be denied their childcare benefits. Some folks just need the push, but even so the deniers have started a petition. What are they thinking?


TODAY’S WEB PAGES

I got an Easter card from a friend that came from this site. Unlike some card sites that are ‘free’ there is a charge for this one, but it is for unlimited cards for a full year! The cost is $14.00 for a year, $20.00 for 2 years. Looking at the site it is a bargain, considering a paper one will cost you $5.00 plus postage. Check it out: lawson

**********

This is described as the number one song in England, maybe, but it could apply to Canada or the US, give a look: song

**********

Politics in Canada and the US this past few months are enough to bring tears to the eye of a stone statue. This is a video, that I just loved with Judge Jeanine on Mitt Romney awakening a sleeping giant: The Judge


TODAY’S QUOTE

Speaking of politics, I just had to include a list of political quotes a friend sent me.

PERFECT One-Liners for Election Year

If God wanted us to vote, he would have given us candidates…  ~Jay Leno~

The problem with political jokes is they get elected…  ~Henry Cate, VII~

We hang the petty thieves and appoint the great ones to public office…  ~Aesop~

If we got one-tenth of what was promised to us in these State of the Union speeches, there wouldn’t be any inducement to go to heaven…  ~Will Rogers~

Politicians are the same all over.  They promise to build a bridge even where there is no river…  ~Nikita Khrushchev~

When I was a boy I was told that anybody could become President; I’m beginning to believe it…  ~Clarence Darrow~

Politicians are people who, when they see light at the end of the tunnel, go out and buy some more tunnel…  ~John Quinton~

Why pay money to have your family tree traced; go into politics and your opponents will do it for you…  ~Author unknown~

Politics is the gentle art of getting votes from the poor and campaign funds from the rich, by promising to protect each from the other…  ~Oscar Ameringer~

I offer my opponents a bargain: if they will stop telling lies about us, I will stop telling the truth about them…  ~Adlai Stevenson, 1952~

A politician is a fellow who will lay down your life for his country…  ~ Tex Guinan~

I have come to the conclusion that politics is too serious a matter to be left to the politicians…  ~Charles de Gaulle~

Instead of giving a politician the keys to the city, it might be better to change the locks…  ~Doug Larson~

There ought to be one day — just one — when there is open season on Congressmen…  ~Will Rogers~

And one of my favourites by Mark Twain, “ Politicians and diapers must be changed often, and for the same reason.’


EXIT LAUGHING

A bit rude, but at our age I think one will understand.

Bert, age 80, always wanted a pair of authentic cowboy boots, so, seeing some on sale, he bought them and wore them home.

Walking proudly, he sauntered into the kitchen and said to his wife, "Notice anything different about me?"

Margaret, age 75, looked him over.  "Nope."

Frustrated, Bert stormed off into the bathroom, undressed and walked back into the kitchen completely naked except for the boots.

Again he asked Margaret, a little louder this time, "Notice anything different NOW?"

Margaret looked up and said in her best deadpan, "Bert, what’s different? It’s hanging down today, it was hanging down yesterday, it’ll be hanging down again tomorrow."

Furious, Bert yelled, "AND DO YOU KNOW WHY IT’S HANGING DOWN, MARGARET?"

"Nope.  Not a clue", she replied.

"IT’S HANGING DOWN, BECAUSE IT’S LOOKING AT MY NEW BOOTS!!!!"

Without missing a beat Margaret replied, "Shoulda bought a hat, Bert!

Shoulda bought a hat."


easter happy

Have a Great Easter weekend, and be nice to one another.
Ross  Bunny

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

