Yes we are back from a cruise to the Caribbean that was great as usual. I had intended to write today about some issues that have interested me relative to politics, and social items. I will get to them a blog or so later, but today I wish to just touch on our brand new non existent Green Recycling Plan mandated by the City of Calgary and which took effect February 1, 2016.

Our board has known about his coming on for the last 18 months. It is to be done by a private contractor of our choosing, since the city is getting out of the collection of recycle type trash as of February 1. My trash was picked up by the guy in our community, and I still have no collection box in my garage. I am technically in non-compliance with our city by-law. Our board seems to have been sitting on their hands on this issue hoping it isn’t going to happen, will go away, or has it so bound up by bureaucratic red tape it will take forever to see the light of day.

I can’t say I am too surprised by this, it reminds me a lot like the expression the armed forces used during world war 2, SNAFU.

Our street on the south of our phase 1 villas is a disaster. It is a veritable skating rink, covered with ice. Someone is going to get hurt. It behooves our board to practice due diligence, but our Chair is sitting on Waikiki pulling on a mai tai, and I see no one listed as vice chair, nor as a snow removal manager for the year.

Speaking of our board and what it does, I was pleased to see that in our community newsletter that our very high priced security system, including the ever popular video cameras, are working well. Which of course begs the question as to how many miscreants our cameras have identified and have had arrested since it is working so well. I have been offering my Trudeau Salute to the cameras when I go by them.


WEB PAGE OF THE DAY

This is an interesting video prepared by the man who was involved in organizing Green Peace. It deals with global warming: Take a look, global warming

********************************

Apropos of the US Primaries, you just might find this speech by Marco Rubio to be of interest. Rubio

*********************************

Remember Alan King, the comedian? Check this link out. It goes back 30 years, and see how fitting it is today. King


EXIT LAUGHING

I would like to share a personal experience with my friends about drinking and driving.

As you know, some of us have been known to have brushes with the authorities from time to time, often on the way home after a "social session" with family or friends.

Well, two days ago, this happened to me. I was out for an evening with friends and had more than several whiskies followed by a couple of bottles of rather nice red wine and vodka shots. Although relaxed, I still had the common sense to know I was slightly over the limit. That’s when I did something I’ve never done before – I took a taxi home!

Sure enough on the way there was a police roadblock, but since it was a taxi they waved it past and I arrived home safely without incident.

This was a real surprise to me, because I had never driven a taxi before. I don’t know where I got it, and now that it’s in my garage I don’t know what to do with it..   So, anyway, if you want to borrow it give me a call.


Have a great day, and be nice to each other.

Ross Open-mouthed smile

  

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

