SANTA 6This time of year is a big one for me on a number of levels. For instance we (My wife and I) had an invitation to go to the annual Christmas Party put on by the dealer who I buy all my vehicles from, and who looks after all of my auto service work.

It is an evening thing, and most of the dealer personnel are attending. If we haven’t seen some of them for a while, and I know a lot of them, it makes for a great evening. We get to meet not only them but to rub shoulders with a number of other GM buyers.

For anybody looking at the blog for the first time, I should point out that I was employed by GM of Canada for over 30 years. It was one of the best relationships I could imagine, and I met a lot of great people while working. All of these folks are also retired now, and, yes you guessed it, they were also at the party, so it was a bit of old home week for us. We got caught up on families, trips, health and so on. In addition we were able to touch base with the owner of the dealership, a man I have known since early in 1970, and who I worked for before he decided to go into the retail side of the business.

OK, it is likely fair to think that I get all my work done at this dealer because I know him. True, it does have a bearing, but in my opinion they operate probably the best dealership in Calgary that sells Chevrolet, Buick, and GMC. The deal has a goodly number of people who have been with them for 25 years or more! Some started at an entry level job, but who are now department heads. Needless to say the dealer is very proud of his people.

So, if you are interested in a new Chev, Buick, or GMC truck, at least give them a try, you will not be disappointed. I have introduced a few other people to the store, who have bought new or used vehicles, and are very impressed with the service.

The dealership is Southgate Chevrolet, Buick, GMC, in southwest Calgary, check it out on line.


A Different Christmas Poem

The embers glowed softly, and in their dim light,
I gazed round the room and I cherished the sight.
My wife was asleep, her head on my chest,
My daughter beside me, angelic in rest.
Outside the snow fell, a blanket of white,
Transforming the yard to a winter delight.

The sparkling lights in the tree I believe,
Completed the magic that was Christmas Eve.
My eyelids were heavy, my breathing was deep,
Secure and surrounded by love I would sleep.
In perfect contentment, or so it would seem,
So slumbered I, perhaps I started to dream.

The sound wasn’t loud, and it wasn’t too near,
But I opened my eyes when it tickled my ear.
Perhaps just a cough, I didn’t quite know,
Then the sure sound of footsteps outside in the snow.
My soul gave a tremble, I struggled to hear,
And I crept to the door just to see who was near.

Standing out in the cold and the dark of the night, 
A lone figure stood, his face weary and tight.
A soldier, I puzzled, some twenty years old,
Perhaps a Trooper, huddled here in the cold.
Alone in the dark, he looked up and smiled,
Standing watch over me, and my wife and my child.

"What are you doing?" I asked without fear,
"Come in this moment, it’s freezing out here!
Put down your pack, brush the snow from your sleeve,
You should be at home on a cold Christmas Eve!"
For barely a moment I saw his eyes shift,
Away from the cold and the snow blown in drifts.

To the window that danced with a warm fire’s light
Then he sighed and he said "It’s really all right,
I’m out here by choice.  I’m here every night."
"It’s my duty to stand at the front of the line,
That separates you from the darkest of times.

No one had to ask or beg or implore me,
I’m proud to stand here like my fathers before me.
My Gramps died in Europe on a day in December."
Then he sighed, "That’s a Christmas ‘Gram always remembers." 
I’ve not seen my own son in more than a while,
But my wife sends me pictures, he’s sure got her smile.

Then he bent and he carefully pulled from his bag,
The red and the white …  A Canadian flag.
I can live through the cold and the being alone,
Away from my family, my house and my home.
I can stand at my post through the rain and the sleet,
I can sleep in a foxhole with little to eat.

I can carry the weight of killing another,
Or lay down my life with my sister and brother.
Who stand at the front against any and all,
To ensure for all time that this flag will not fall.

"So go back inside," he said, "Harbour no fright,
Your family is waiting and I’ll be all right."
"But isn’t there something I can do, at the least,
"Give you money," I asked, "or prepare you a feast?
It seems all too little for all that you’ve done,
For being away from your wife and your son."

Then his eye welled a tear that held no regret,
"Just tell us you love us, and never forget.

To fight for our rights back at home while we’re gone,
To stand your own watch, no matter how long.
For when we come home, either standing or dead,
To know you remember we fought and we bled.
Is payment enough, and with that we will trust,
That we mattered to you as you mattered to us."

PLEASE, Would you do me the kind favour of sending this to as many people as you can?

Christmas will be coming soon and some credit is due to our Canadian service men and women for our being able to celebrate these festivities.


COMPUTING 101

I hope that you are not experiencing some of the problems I have with our shiny new Windows 10. I have been having a problem with a request for a WINDOWS Password that is all news to me, and if I do not have it, I cannot open some of the apps. I`m working on it, and I`ll write up the fix if I ever find one.

In the meantime, I would like to offer up some suggestions that you can use to protect yourself from scammers on your computer, phone, and even in person. The information is all on the web, and you can read for yourself what to do in each situation. Most of these have occurred to us in very recent weeks. If I missed something,Google the one you need and you will get all the information needed.

Tech Support scams, you get a phone call usually that something is wrong with your computer. Read More. tech support scam

This scam is about Canada Revenue, and the CRA has a good site here. CRA

RBC has a good site on various scams that seem awfully possible. rbc

I got an email recently from somebody I have not seen in years, claiming that they were stuck without money in Turkey, and needed 1800 dollars. The email address looked legit, but I told the lady sorry. Then I looked up the correct email, and sent it to her and explained what I did and why. Never heard back.

Microsoft has an excellent and free virus and malware program, that they now call Windows Defender. If you use Microsoft, try using it. It is updated frequently and additionally you are prompted periodically to go to the Win Defender and do a scan. It`s a free included program, and works extremely well, and it does not slow your computer down.


TODAY`S WEB PAGE

I like music, particularly the 50`s 60`s country, rock, big band, and a whole lot more. If you do as well, try this web page that streams tons of music from military bands to Zydeco and Cajun.

free oldies

I sent this off to my old buddies and got some great feedback. it is funny. School lunch

Never saw this one coming. European grocery store playing Christmas songs on their cash register! Christmas songs


TODAY`S QUOTE

Golda Meir: `Peace will come when the Arabs will love their children more than they hate us.` I like this one!


EXIT LAUGHING

My wife hosted a dinner party for all our friends, some of whom we hadn’t seen for ages and everyone was encouraged to bring their children along as well.

All throughout dinner my wife’s best friend’s four-year-old daughter stared at me as I sat opposite her.  The girl could hardly eat her food for staring.

I checked my shirt for spots, felt my face for food, and patted my hair in place, but nothing stopped her from staring at me.  I tried my best to just ignore her, but finally it was too much for me.

I asked her, "Why are you staring at me?"
Everyone at the table had noticed her behaviour, and the table went quiet, waiting for her response.

The little girl said, "I’m just waiting to see how you drink like a fish."
************

A bunch of Edmonton girls got together and decided to go to a football game in Calgary.

They rented a two tier bus for their little adventure to the game between the rival Alberta teams.

There were about 20 blondes and 20 brunettes.  They met at the bus depot and as it worked out all the brunettes seated themselves on the bottom section and the blondes on the top area.

As they left Edmonton the brunettes began to party.  Champagne, wine and beer.  As they passed Leduc they were really were into the fun and the anticipation that Edmonton was going to be victorious.

About Red Deere one of the girls on the bottom said to another, “It sure is quite up there on top, I wonder why.” “I’m going up to check on them.” She goes up and to her amazement all the blondes were clutching the seats in front of them, their knuckles white and terror on their faces.

She said to one of the blondes, “What’s the matter up here, we’re having a ball downstairs.” The blonde looks up and says, “Oh, yea, sure, you’ve got a driver.”


Have a great Day and be kind to one another.

Ross images

 

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

