SANTA 14

This may seem like a long way from Christmas, but if you hang in for a few seconds, it may all come together.

Many of you may know that I feel quite strongly about the amount of political correctness that surrounds us today. The result of this PC garbage is that we, as in those who like Christmas, are being driven back from it and denied all the things I, and probably you, grew up with.

Many of you may also know that I worked for just over 30 years for General Motors of Canada. Hence the inclusion in the title of my Blog, Gmman5585. When I joined up in 55, I immediately had Buick branded on my butt!

OK, so what does all this have to do with Christmas. Well, it’s easy. Following my retirement in ‘85, a group of Salaried Retirees in Oshawa put together a Salaried group, complete with a web page, meetings, dinners, golf get-togethers and so on. The group is headed each year by an elected board and that means they have a President who reports to the members each month. I have belonged to this organization since just after it started, and I read about all my old buds who are still living.

The President of the group is a lady named Lillian Jacoby, a lady I have never met. After reading her monthly report for the December issue, I felt compelled to write her and offer my congratulation on a most wonderful piece of newsletter writing I have read in a long time. Not only that I asked if she would allow me to add her piece to my blog. Lillian was most generous in allowing it to be posted. So I have included the link to the Newsletter. I believe that while it does a great job of promoting Christmas, it offers inclusiveness to people who may have another way to celebrate their religion. I now you will enjoy the thought expressed. Thanks again Lillian!

Newsletter: Retiree Newsletter


TODAY’S QUOTE

God gave you a gift of 86,400 seconds today. Have you used one to say 'thank you?' - William Arthur Ward


TODAYS WEB PAGES

This is a quartet of young men who sing one of my favourite songs, “Amazing Grace”. Only thing is this time it is in the Coliseum in Rome. Listen Here

**************

Maybe you follow U.S. politics, and maybe you don’t, but it seems to me that when we live so close to this elephant and if he rolls over we get squished, we should maybe have an idea of the politics down there. This is a short speech by one of the major Republican contenders Marco Rubio, a guy I have watched for some time now. Marco Rubio

**************

This is a video about a lost kid in a Costco store, who finds a piano, and gives a recital. Great playing for a wee lad. Costco Kid  


EXIT LAUGHING

Past Canadian Election

As we try to figure out what the election results mean, here are a few insights:
Like many millennia’s, after trying to strike out into the big vast world on his own, Justin Trudeau has returned home to the place he was raised (24 Sussex Dr.), finding it just a bit too scary out there in the real world.
On the flip side, Mr.  Harper woke up to quite likely his worst nightmare.
He woke up as a regular Calgary citizen with a Muslim as his Mayor, the NDP running his province, and the Liberals running his country….

***************

Just thought I’d pass along some advice my broker gave me today…
I called him this morning and asked him what I should be investing in as I feel interest rates are not going to be rising as they did during the late 70’s early 80’s.   So I told him I thought we ought to be looking to get out of bonds and finding a safe haven in which to invest.   I asked him, "Should we move to precious metals, foreign currency or what?"
He responded, "If the Democrats are in office much longer, canned goods, water and ammunition are probably your best bet."


Have a great day, and be kind to one another.

Ross Open-mouthed smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

