I have had arthritis in my right knee for over 20 years, and until almost 2 years ago, it would occasionally “twinge” when climbing or going down stairs. Then one day right out of the blue, I got out of the car after a 5 minute drive to the local shopping center, and I was hit with pain bad enough that I could hardly move.

I did manage to stagger into the drug store as I had planned and then came home. I called my GP, or General Practitioner, our personal doc, who I got to see right off. We did the x-ray, found out it was the arthritis that I had for lo these many years, but now it was acting up. I was told to use Tylenol Arthritis and a heavy duty prescription version of Voltaren on the knee. Long story short, the Tylenol was not too effective, regardless of the dosage, so I switched to ibuprofen and noticed a big improvement in pain relief. I could walk again but limped, and sitting was still a problem as was getting into or out of chairs. I upped the dosage after going on line and finding that it would be OK at the levels I was going to use. What I didn’t factor into the equation was the time frame.

Everything was going along just fine until I went for my annual physical, and our new GP mentioned the problems I may face if I continued with the ibuprofen. We did some blood tests to determine liver function and I was lower than I should be for my age, and weight. He showed me some information on the evils of ibuprofen in long term use. Yikes! Information on the evils of long term use of ibuprofen can be found here: ibuprofen The outlook was not pretty. Think Dialysis. He offered a version of Tylenol 3, that would do just fine, and suggested too that I consider an injection in the knee. With what he had been telling and showing me, I agreed, and he sent the requisition to our local CDC (Calgary Diagnostic Center) and I got a call just after I got home and they could take me the next morning! Now that is service!

Now I admit a bit of apprehension, regarding long steel objects being stuck in my knee. But I showed up on time, filled in the necessary paperwork, got my pants off, got into a gown, and waited, Had another talk and some more paper signing to do, sat some more, and I got called in to the room where I was about to be punctured. I lay down on the table, they set up the x-ray machine, disinfected the knee, got a small shot of novocaine, got the injection, and got up walked out, got dressed, was told to wait a few minutes to see if all was OK, and I was on my way home.

Total time involved was just over an hour and a half, the cortisone injection was about 5 minutes max from start to finish. And guess what? I never felt a thing! How good is that!

My message here is that I was a fairly heavy user of ibuprofen, and in that year I had damaged my liver to some degree. Just some reduced capacity. If you use a lot of ibuprofen, check it out either on line and with your doc, or just have a talk with your doc. If your doc recommends the cortisone shot, and you are in Alberta, the AHS pays for it, and they also pay for 6 follow up visits with a physiotherapist. NO BS, it was easy and absolutely painless! Trust me!


TODAY’S DAILY QUOTE:

Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later. - Og Mandino


TODAY’S WEB PAGE:

I believe that this comment by a woman know as Caroline B. Glick is a learned and important observation on the rise of anti Semitism in the world. I am not a Jew, but I support what the Jews are doing to protect Israel. I got this email from a friend in Florida who does happen to be a Jew. I am proud to post the message on my blog. It is a bit long, but worthy of your consideration. Check it out: Anti Semitism

>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

The first time I ever saw one of these shows was in 1980 at SeaWorld in San Diego. That was 35 years ago almost, and I was a lot younger, and didn’t understand as I do today the seamier side to these “shows”. Not withstanding that, this is not a bad dolphin show, and some may still enjoy it. Take a look; Dolphin Show


EXIT LAUGHING:

The Lawyer’s Duck

A big city lawyer went duck hunting in rural North Wairarapa. He shot and dropped a bird, but it fell into a farmer’s field on the other side of a fence.

As the lawyer climbed over the fence, an elderly farmer drove up on his tractor and asked him what he was doing.

The litigator responded, "I shot a duck and it fell in this field, and now I’m going to retrieve it."

The old farmer replied, "This is my property, and you are not coming over here."

The indignant lawyer said, "I am one of the best trial attorneys in New Zealand and if you don’t let me get that duck, I’ll sue you and take everything you own."

The old farmer smiled and said, "Apparently, you don’t know how we settle disputes in North Wairarapa.

We settle small disagreements like this with the ‘Three Kick Rule.’"

The lawyer asked, "What is the ‘Three Kick Rule’?"

The Farmer replied, "Well, because the dispute occurs on my land, I get to go first.

I kick you three times and then you kick me three times and so on back and forth until someone gives up."

The attorney quickly thought about the proposed contest, decided that he could easily take the old codger and agreed to abide by the local custom.

The old farmer slowly climbed down from the tractor and walked up to the attorney.

His first kick planted the toe of his heavy steel toed work boot into the lawyer’s groin and dropped him to his knees!

His second kick to the midriff sent the lawyer’s last meal gushing from his mouth.

The lawyer was on all fours when the farmer’s third kick to his rear end, sent him face-first into a fresh cow pat.

The lawyer summoned every bit of his will and remaining strength and very slowly managed to get to his feet.

Wiping his face with the arm of his jacket, he said, "Okay, you old fart.  Now it’s my turn."

The old farmer smiled and said, "Nah, I give up.  You can have the duck."
>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>

Two Norwegians from Minnesota go to Collect Unemployment

Sven and Ole worked together in a Minnesota factory…..and both were laid off. 

So…dey vent to der Unemployment Office togedder.

Asked his occupation, Ole said, "Panty Stitcher.  I sew da elastic onto da ladies cotton panties."

The clerk looked up Panty Stitcher.  Finding it classified as unskilled labor, she gave Ole $300 a week in unemployment compensation.

Sven, when asked his occupation replied, "Diesel Fitter".

The clerk looked up Diesel Fitter…and it was classified as skilled.  So, the clerk gave Sven $600 a week in unemployment compensation.

When Ole found this out, he was yus furious!  He stormed back into the office to find out why his friend and co-worker was collecting double his benefits. 

The clerk explained, "Panty Stitchers are unskilled labor and Diesel Fitters are skilled labor."

"Vat skill?  yelled Ole.  "I sew da elastic on da panties.  Sven puts dem over his head and says, "Yah,————- DIESEL FITTER".


Have a Great Day, and be kind to one another.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

