A couple of small items before the blog. The sparrows are gone by the look of it from the feeder, and we are seeing more chickadees than ever. There were more than a dozen out there yesterday!

<><><><>

After watching the weather forecast yesterday the forecaster noted that our barometer reading was very high. it is 1040 mb according to the Weather Network. My barometer was reading 1034 mb, with 30.5” mg. I doubt that my barometer has ever recorded that before.

<><><><>

We are going to be away for a few days, and will start this all up when we get back. I am fortunate to live in a community where the neighbours look after the place as if it was their own even when we are away. I’ll let the regulars know when we return.
<><><><>

When we moved back to Calgary from Red Deer in 1967, we were fortunate that we found a great GP (General Practitioner) in our immediate community area. He was a great doctor, an old school type guy, hands on type who you could call in the morning with a problem and you would be seen that morning or afternoon. This doc nursed me and our family through appendicitis, flue, even my bout of depression. I owe him a lot.

But over the years, he got older, and was feeling his age, and needed to retire. I would say he earned it. So around 2007, he pulled the pin and did the deed. They don’t come any better than he did, and today he is looking after his horses down in the High River area.

OK, that meant that we had to find a new guy. A doc from down east came in and bought the practice, and while we have some friends who go to  the eastern doc, my wife felt uneasy about him, and we looked out side that.

We found a doc in our area here, that seemed to be ok, we had the interview, and we were in. There were others in our condo complex who were his patients as well, and I started hearing stories about his work, but he still seemed OK to us. When we had the cancer issue in the family, the guy gave us the run around and even lied that some paperwork that should have been sent in to Alberta Health, had in fact not been sent in. It was still sitting on his desk after a week, and he was about to go on vacation.

We did what was necessary, got the paperwork in and got to see the oncologist. We never went back to this guy. In fact I complained to the College of Physicians and Surgeons about him. It took a year for them to finally get back to me with the outcome, after 4 or 5 letters from the College that the file was still open and we would be advised.

We found a new walk in clinic opening in our area, and a young female doctor was taking patients. The format of the walk in was to our liking, they we open evenings, and weekends. We both found the place worked well for us, until the day we needed to see our doc, and it was 2 weeks to the nearest appointment, otherwise we were just another walk in! We looked into the matter, and found that it was closed in the evening, and also on weekends, not as had been the case when we signed up. Our doctor was married and had a couple of young children and only worked part time. We have never gone back, the entire scheme of things we had thought were in place, had changed.

Our daughter had lost her doc, since he moved out of town, and she came up with a guy who was taking patients just a few blocks away. She liked him, so we went to see him and now we also have a full time doc. He is very up to date, talks in a language it is easy to understand, has convinced me that I get hearing aids and more. He has been most helpful with an on going problem our family had been having. I like him too.

But the other day, we needed to see him in a hurry since we were going away and were looking forward to a couple of flights that would take us to Miami, and a sinus congestion problem is not something one looks forward to when flying! I called the clinic, and we got in yesterday morning at 9.30! Just 1 hour after I called!

We had told the doc we were flying and that it was Miami we were going into. He liked the idea of going where it was warm, but he said he would never go into the US, for any reason, ever. When asked about that he pointed out that he was a black man and he felt he would be a target for some gun happy type. He is a big guy, I understand he is from Nigeria, and has worked here for 6 years now. My wife said, that since you are a big guy, one would think you might be left alone. He said that sometimes people like to see if they can take on a big guy, just because of that size.

When I heard about his concerns, I admit I was embarrassed to be a member of the white majority! When I grew up in Bermuda 2/3 of the population was black in the 1930’s and 40’s. Probably still is, and while there was some evidence of racism there then, I would hope that was gone by now. What a pity that a learned man who looks after the health of people feels unsafe in the richest country in the world because he just so happens to be black.

My father was a bigot to be sure, fortunately my mother was not, and she taught me to respect all people, regardless of colour, or nationality. My mother had it right, my father did not. I know this will not change anything, and that racism and bigotry will continue to some degree forever, but why does it have to be that way? We are after all people first.


Speaking of health matters, there was a great article on page 2 of the “C “ or YOU section of the Calgary Herald yesterday, Dec 29. I had hoped to create a link to it, but such was not to be. So, if you will bear with me, it really went on to point out the benefits of exercise in the aging process, and since many of my readers are of an age, I would have thought they might be interested. It does in no way suggest that we all start to do marathons, or do heavy lifting. I does suggest doing some 150 minutes a week, or 2.5 hours. Walking is one of the best and easiest.

Exercise can include things like house cleaning, running the vacuum, shovelling snow, literally anything that will get you moving will be good for arthritis, mood disorders, all things good. You will on average live longer, happier, and healthier lives if you can continue being active or are just starting.


coast1

This is a cartoon, that caught my fancy during Christmas and I just had to pass it on.


TODAY’S QUOTE:
QUOTES 16


TODAY’S WEB PAGE:

I got this from one of my email buds, passed it on and got a lot of response from people. I think you will like the clip. It is about Bob Hope, and his USO Christmas show that he took around the world for the US troops fighting in the various theatres. Bob Hope


EXIT LAUGHING

An elderly man was stopped by the police around 2 am and he was asked where he was going at that time of night.

The man replied, "I’m on my way to a lecture about alcohol abuse and the effects it has on the human body, as well as smoking and staying out late."

The officer then asked, "Really?  Who’s giving that lecture at this time of night?"

The man replied, "That would be my wife."

<><><><>
The largest condom factory in the States burned down.  President Obama was awakened at 4 am by the telephone.

"Sorry to bother you at this hour, Sir, but there is an emergency! I’ve just received word that the Durex factory in Washington has burned to the ground.  It is estimated, the entire USA supply of condoms will be used up by the end of the week."

Obama: "Oh damn!  The economy will never be able to cope with all those unwanted babies.  We’ll be ruined.  We’ll have to ship some condoms in from Mexico."

Telephone voice says, "Bad idea…the Mexicans will have a field day with this one.  We’ll be a laughing stock.  What about Canada?"

Obama: "Okay, I’ll call Stephen Harper and tell him we need five million condoms, ten inches long and three inches thick.  That way, they’ll continue to respect us as Americans."

Three days later, a delighted President Obama ran out to open the first of the 10,000 boxes that had just arrived.  He found it full of condoms,10 inches long and 3 inches thick, exactly as requested…  all coloured with red maple leaves with small writing on each one: MADE IN CANADA – SIZE: SMALL. 


happy-new-yearHave a Great Day, and be nice to one another.

Ross smiley 1

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

