merry-christmas-with-tree09Yes it is, but at the same time I am somewhat dismayed to continue to notice the lack of “Christmas” in Christmas. As we have done in years gone by, we drove out to one of the local garden supply stores today to take a peek at the flowers, colourful plants and to check out what they are offering in the way of Christmas decorations. Here’s the skinny on that one. Some neat stuff unavailable in your local stores, but they were playing Christmas music! The old kind where the word Christmas is featured in the title as it is in the verse of the song.

Think “I’m dreaming of a White Christmas” or “Silent Night”, or “O little town of Bethlehem” for example. Every one I spoke with in this nursery store I offered them a Merry Christmas, and I got one in return.

Contrast this with what I fond when I glanced through the Holiday catalogue distributed by our local Target Store. It seems they are struggling in Canada ever since they arrived. I am not surprised since they have not resonated with Canadian shoppers, and maybe this is part of the reason. Sure they had problems getting off to a fast start, when they had empty shelves due to stocking problems, the prices were not terribly competitive, and for much of what they offered, it lacked appeal for Canadians. They certainly were off the mark with expectations that one could buy specials the same way one did when they crossed into the US to shop.

Add all those things to not embracing the word Christmas in their ads, and I for one will vote with my wallet, and they will likely never see me in their store ever again. I think we have taken this Politically Correct nonsense to a new low.

In Canada, if some one or group wishes to worship dried cow manure, they can, no problemo. I for one will wish them happy cow pie day, and go on about my business. They may wish me a Merry Christmas, or not, but I will offer them that greeting. They are under no obligation to accept it, nor am I willing to accept the fact that some people want to change our way of lie in Canada. It is not just about the Christmas issue, it is now involving our way of life as we have done it in Canada for years. PC running rampant is NOT my way of living in Canada.


TODAY’S WEB PAGE

A web page devoted to the Christmas story, done by some kids of St. Paul’s Church in New Zealand. Pretty neat, Take a look: Christmas story

<><><><>’

I have heard the Lord’s Prayer many times, spoken, sung in English, and other languages, but I really think this rendering is the best, give a listen and see what you think. Lord’s Prayer 

<><><><>

I’m sure that many of you will remember a young entertainer, Elvis Presley. This is a clip, taken live from one of his last shows before he died. The man still had talent, and could move people with his music. Elvis


TODAY’S QUOTE:

sholomaleichem154531


EXIT LAUGHING:

SENIORS & COMPUTERS

As we Silver Surfers know, sometimes we have trouble with our computers.

Yesterday, I had a problem, so I called George, the 11 year old next door, whose bedroom looks like Mission Control, and asked him to come over.

George clicked a couple of buttons and solved the problem.

As he was walking away, I called after him, ‘So, what was wrong?

He replied, ‘It was an ID ten T error.’ I didn’t want to appear stupid, but nonetheless inquired, ‘An, ID ten T error?  What’s that?  In case I need to fix it again.’ George grinned..’Haven’t you ever heard of an ID ten T error before?

‘No,’ I replied.

‘Write it down,’ he said, ‘and I think you’ll figure it out.’ So I wrote down:

ID10T

<><><><>

A successful rancher near Red Deer died and left everything to his devoted wife. 

She was a very good-looking woman and determined to keep the ranch, so she decided to place an ad in the newspaper for a ranch hand.

Two cowboys applied for the job. One was gay and the other a drunk.

She thought long and hard about it, and when no one else applied she decided to hire the gay guy, figuring it would be safer to have him around the house rather than the drunk.

He proved to be a hard worker who put in long hours every day and knew a lot about ranching. For weeks, the two of them worked, and the ranch was doing well.

Then one day, the rancher’s widow said to the hired hand, "You have done a really good job, and the ranch looks great. You should go into town and kick up your heels."

The hired hand readily agreed and went into town one Saturday night.
One o’clock came, however, and he didn’t return.

Two o’clock and no hired hand.

Finally he returned at two-thirty, and upon entering the room, he found the rancher’s widow sitting by the fireplace with a glass of wine, waiting for him.

She quietly called him over to her.."Unbutton my blouse and take it off," she said.

Trembling, he did as she directed. "Now take off my boots."

He did as she asked, ever so slowly. "Now take off my socks."

He removed each gently and placed them neatly by her boots.

"Now take off my skirt."

He slowly unbuttoned it, constantly watching her eyes in the fire light.

"Now take off my bra."

Again, with trembling hands, he did as he was told and dropped it to the floor.

Then she looked at him and said, " If you ever wear my clothes into town again, you’re fired ."

<><><><>

INBOX)37029a


Have a Great Day, and be kind to one another.

Ross north-pole-smiley-emoticon

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

