Santa Waving Through a CircleSince we moved into our condo in the late 90’s we have enjoyed a number of our residents as friends. And so it happens in December we have a get together for wine, some canapés, other food, and good conversation. We had ours yesterday afternoon. We do it throughout the year as well, but Christmas is the main event.

It is unfortunate that some of us are getting older and are having health problems that get in the way of having the kind of times we have had in the past. But we added some new folks this year, a couple who moved in over a year ago, and who proved to be very likable, according to all accounts.

My 1 IC put together a great bunch of dishes, and I helped mostly by staying out of the way, or moving furniture, bringing up the wine and so on. Can’t wait for next year!


I got this one a while ago, and now seemed like a good time to blog it. I hope you enjoy the message and the meaning.

I PRAY YOU ENOUGH

Recently, I overheard a mother and SON in their last moments together at the airport.
They had announced the departure.
Standing near the security gate, they hugged, and the mother said, ‘I love you, and I pray you enough.’ The SON replied, ‘Mom, our life together has been more than enough.  Your love is all I ever needed.  I pray you enough, too, Mom.’ They kissed, and the SON left.  The mother walked over to the window where I was seated.  Standing there, I could see she wanted and needed to cry.
I tried not to intrude on her privacy, but she welcomed me in by asking, ‘Did you ever say good-bye to someone knowing it would be forever?’

Yes, I have,’ I replied.  ‘Forgive me for asking, but why is this a forever good-bye?’

‘Well…I’m not as young as I once was, he lives so far away & has HIS own busy life.  I have some challenges ahead, and the reality is – his next trip back will be for my funeral,’ she said.

‘When you were saying good-bye, I heard you say, ‘I pray you enough.’ May I ask what that means?’

She began to smile.  ‘That’s a prayer that has been handed down from other generations.  My parents used to say it to everyone.’ She paused a moment and looked up as if trying to remember it in detail, and she smiled even more.  ‘When we said, ‘I pray you enough,’ we wanted the other person to have a life filled with just enough good things to sustain them.’ Then, turning toward me, she shared the following as if she were reciting it from memory.

I pray you enough sun to keep your attitude bright no matter how gray the day may appear.
I pray you enough rain to appreciate the sun even more.
I pray you enough happiness to keep your spirit alive and everlasting.
I pray you enough pain so that even the smallest of joys in life may appear bigger.
I pray you enough gain to satisfy your wanting.
I pray you enough loss to appreciate all that you possess.
I pray you enough hellos to get you through the final good-bye.
Then, she began to cry, and walked away.

They say, it takes a minute to find a special person, an hour to appreciate them, a day to love them, but an entire life to forget them.

TAKE TIME TO LIVE…..To all my friends and loved ones, I PRAY YOU ENOUGH…


NEED WASHING?

A little girl had been shopping with her Mom in Wal-Mart.  She must have been 6 years old, this beautiful red haired, freckle faced image of innocence.

It was pouring outside.  The kind of rain that gushes over the top of rain gutters, so much in a hurry to hit the earth it has no time to flow down the spout..  We all stood there, under the awning, just inside the door of the Wal-Mart.

We waited, some patiently, others irritated because nature messed up their hurried day.

I am always mesmerized by rainfall.  I got lost in the sound and sight of the heavens washing away the dirt and dust of the world.  Memories of running, splashing so carefree as a child came pouring in as a welcome reprieve from the worries of my day.

Her little voice was so sweet as it broke the hypnotic trance we were all caught in, ‘Mom let’s run through the rain,’ She said.

‘What?’ Mom asked.

‘Let’s run through the rain!’ She repeated.

‘No, honey.  We’ll wait until it slows down a bit,’ Mom replied.

This young child waited a minute and repeated: ‘Mom, let’s run through the rain..’ ‘We’ll get soaked if we do,’ Mom said.

‘No, we won’t, Mom.  That’s not what you said this morning,’ the young girl said as she tugged at her Mom’s arm.

‘This morning?  When did I say we could run through the rain and not get wet?  ‘ ‘Don’t you remember?  When you were talking to Daddy about his cancer, you said, ‘ If God can get us through this, He can get us through anything!

The entire crowd stopped dead silent..  I swear you couldn’t hear anything but the rain..  We all stood silently.  No one left.  Mom paused and thought for a moment about what she would say.

Now some would laugh it off and scold her for being silly.  Some might even ignore what was said.  But this was a moment of affirmation in a young child’s life.  A time when innocent trust can be nurtured so that it will bloom into faith.

‘Honey, you are absolutely right.  Let’s run through the rain.  If GOD lets us get wet, well maybe we just need washing,’ Mom said.

Then off they ran.  We all stood watching, smiling and laughing as they darted past the cars and yes, through the puddles.  They got soaked.

They were followed by a few who screamed and laughed like children all the way to their cars.  And yes, I did.

I ran.  I got wet.  I needed washing.

Circumstances or people can take away your material possessions, they can take away your money, and they can take away your health.
But no one can ever take away your precious memories…So, don’t forget to make time and take the opportunities to make memories every day.

To everything there is a season and a time to every purpose under heaven.

I HOPE YOU STILL TAKE THE TIME TO RUN THROUGH THE RAIN.


TODAY’S QUOTE
daleevans192175


TODAY’S WEB PAGE:
This page is not in keeping with the Christmas Spirit, but deals with what I and many others might consider a very serious case of abuse of power by our Canadian Government. Just when you think all is well, it could happen to you!

Check it out: Abuse


EXIT LAUGHING
Newfoundland vasectomy.
After having their 11th child, a Newfoundland couple decided that was enough, as they could not afford a larger bed.  So the husband went to his doctor/veterinarian and told him that he and his wife didn’t want to have any more children.

The doctor told him that there was a procedure called a vasectomy that could fix the problem but that it was expensive.  A less costly alternative, said the doctor, was to go home, get a large firecracker, light it, put it in a beer can, then hold the can up to his ear and count to 10.

The Newfie said to the doctor, "I may not be the smartest man in the world, but I don’t see how putting a firecracker in a beer can next to my ear is going to help me."

"Trust me," said the doctor.  So the man went home, lit a firecracker and put it in a beer can.

He held the can up to his ear and began to count:

"1"

"2"

"3"

"4"

"5"

at which point he paused, placed the beer can between his legs, and resumed counting on his other hand.


Have a Great Day, and be kind to every one.

Ross north-pole-smiley-emoticon

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

