TREE DAMAGE RE SNOWFALL (13)I have been around for a while, and have live in Alberta Canada since 1960, I have learned to live by the the excellent information given me by a guy I knew who said when I commented on the weather in Alberta, “If you don’t like the weather, just wait five minutes”. The meaning was that it will change to something else very soon.

TREE DAMAGE RE SNOWFALL (6)Last Sunday, September 7, it got to a balmy 78°, and we were all in shorts enjoying a great day. By nightfall it had started to rain. On Monday it got cloudy, colder, and soon it was snowing quite heavily, and it continued into the night. It was rain and snow on Tuesday September 9, and we got 5 inches of snow in our yard, that melted as the day went on. Where it had been 34° in the morning, it warmed up in the afternoon, not by much, but enough that the snow on the ground was gone.

TREE DAMAGE RE SNOWFALL (27)The next thing we saw was that there was now a snowfall warning for our area. Again. They were right. The snow was wet and it was snowing heavily during the night. I measured it at over 8 inches depending on where it was measured.

The snow was wet, and heavy, so it stuck to the leaves that were still on the trees, and we had a lot of snow damage to our trees. You can see what I mean from the pictures in our condo complex. Many areas of the  city were without power, but we dodged that bullet. Trees were down or had broken branches on a lot of the city west side.

Considering that it is not even fall yet for another 10 days or so, it is still summer, and a teensy bit early to celebrate the arrival of winter.

I have included some of the pictures I took this morning of the damage. I took the pictures to thwart any denials by insurance companies as to the damage we had experienced.


TODAYS WEB PAGE:

I’m sure you remember when there was a big hue and cry over the re-introduction of wolves into Yellowstone National Park. You will recall I’m sure hearing the protests that the bison and the farmers cattle would be attacked. Considering that there had been no wolves in the park for about 70 years, I wonder just how they came to that conclusion. In just a few short years since the re-introduction, the park has changed and improved in so many ways. A short video has been prepared to show how the park has improved over that time. Take a look: Yellowstone


Do you remember the long running TV show? If so you will love the following clip. If you don’t remember, it is still worth a look at one of the most edgy shows of it’s time with Archie and Edith Bunker, as they attend a Jewish funeral. Check it out: All in the family


TODAY’S QUOTE:

As sure as the spring will follow the winter, prosperity and economic growth will follow recession.

Bo Bennett


EXIT LAUGHING:

50 Shades of Golf

Four guys have been going to the same Golfing trip to St Andrews for many years.  Two days before the group is to leave, Jack’s wife puts her foot down and tells him he isn’t going and that she’s got something else planned.
Naturally, Jack’s mates are very upset that he can’t go, but what can they do.

Two days later, the three get to St Andrews only to find Jack sitting at the bar with four drinks set up!

"Wow, Jack, how long you been here, and how did you talk your missus into letting you go?"

"Well, actually, I’ve been here since last night..Yesterday evening, I was sitting in my living room chair and my wife came up behind me and put her hands over my eyes and asked, ‘Guess who?" I pulled her hands off, and there she was, wearing only a see-through nightie.

She took my hand and pulled me into our bedroom.  On her bedside table I saw the book ’50 Shades of Grey’.  She had lit candles and sprinkled rose petals around and on the bed she had handcuffs and ropes!  Then she slipped off her nightie, laid on the bed and said, "Okay tie me up, hand-cuff me to the bed, and do whatever you want."

So, Here I am!

********

Back on January 9th, a group of Pekin, Illinois bikers were riding west on I-74 when they saw a girl about to jump off the Murray Baker Bridge .  So they stopped.

George, their leader, a big burly man of 53, gets off his Harley, walks through a group of gawkers, past the State Trooper who was trying to talk her down off the railing, and says, "Hey Baby…..whatcha doin’ up there on that railin’?"

She says tearfully, "I’m going to commit suicide!!"

While he didn’t want to appear "sensitive," George also didn’t want to miss this "be-a-legend" opportunity either so he asked …….."Well, before you jump, Honey-Babe..why don’t you give ole George here your best last kiss?"

So, with no hesitation at all, she leaned back over the railing and did just that ….  and it was a long, deep, lingering kiss followed immediately by another even better one.

After they breathlessly finished, George gets a big thumbs-up approval from his biker-buddies, the onlookers, and even the State Trooper, and then says, "Wow!  That was the best kiss I have ever had, Honey!  That’s a real talent you’re wasting, Sugar Shorts.  You could be famous if you rode with me.  Why the hell are you committing suicide?"

"My parents don’t like me dressing up like a girl."

It’s still unclear whether she jumped or was pushed.


Have a Great Day and be nice to one another.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

