Another dreary kind of day here. It was only 40 degrees this morning with fog, it is 54 now and the fog has lifted, but it is still cloudy. I think it is time to look at something else other than crappy weather. If it gets a bit nicer I will go for a walk this afternoon.

MOVIES I HAVE SEEN LATELY
I have been a fan of Clint Eastwood movies since I can’t remember when. I have been able to collect a number of them, going from his Dirty Harry ones and his old Man with no name movies. ( A fistful of dollars, A few dollars more). One of his Dirty Harry titles I do not have is Magnum Force, and I found a copy on DVD at our local library, and took a look a couple of days ago. I still enjoy his stuff. It is clear that his politics are black and white, good guys vs. bad guys and the like. But I find they are fun. Some of his lines are memorable, and I guess they are still in use today. Lines like: “Do ya feel lucky, well do ya punk?” or “Make my day”. Or how about the one in his Magnum Force movie, “A man has to know his limitations”.

I have always liked westerns, even as a child during the late 30’s and early 40’s. In addition to Gene Autry, Roy Rogers, Randolph Scott and even the Cisco Kid, I enjoyed the westerns that John Wayne acted in. I recently acquired a number of old John Wayne DVDs that I found to bring back a lot of memories. They were kind of cheesy to be sure, but the movie had a kind of plot, the scenery was out of this world, (western sunsets and sunrises), and all those mesas, mountains, and red rock take me back and also remind me of all the places I have been across the the US southwest. The titles I have watched recently are all with John Wayne, and starring with him in El Dorado, was Robert Mitchum, Hondo starred John, but also had a very young James Arness (Gunsmoke) , Geraldine Page, and Ward Bond. (an old friend of Wayne). This was a movie adapted from a book by Louis L’Amour, titled Hondo. The last one I have enjoyed is Big Jake one of Wayne’s later movies, filmed in 1971. All great old movies, I think anyway. I still have some to see yet.

Some of  the best parts about these older movies are things like, a plot, the absence of all the flash bang special effects that are such a huge part of any movie made today. And finally the pictures were made on site, not acted out on a green board and pasted into another picture.

BOOKS I HAVE ENJOYED LATELY

Oh Boy, here we go! I have read a few of the old Louis L’Amour westerns and they have all been good, I don’t think Louis ever wrote a bad book! Most recent was the Riders of the High Rock which was actually a Hopalong Cassidy story! Ride the Dark Trail was another, as was Law of the Desert Born.

John Sandford is another of my favourites, and he didn’t disappoint with Bad Blood, Invisible Prey, and Easy Prey.

John Grisham is a favourite of everybody I suspect, and I got to read some of his work recently. Kid Lawyer was OK, and so was The Partner. The Innocent Man was a bit hard to read dealing as it did with the death penalty in Texas and how a young man was convicted wrongly and there seemed to be nothing that could be done. I got to read one other of his books, The Associate. Very good too.

Tony Hillerman is another favourite since he writes about the life of the people on the Navajo reservation in Arizona and surrounding area. His books are all about the efforts of a couple of police officers on the Reservation. They are both members of the Navajo Tribal Police. Lieutenant Joe Leaphorn and Jim Chee chase down the perps in the Arizona setting, and having travelled a lot throughout the area of ShipRock, Window Rock and all the mountains there it brings back a lot of memories.

I got a bunch of Michael Connelly yarns, mostly the stuff with Harry Bosch in them. There was one book of his I didn’t care for, “Crime Beat”, a collection of some of his early crime stories.

There were other writers, and some other books by people like Vince Flynn, a guy I finds writes a book that is kind of plausible. Scary stuff though dealing as he does with his Mitch Rapp character who is an assassin and seems to work for the US Government. Hmmmmm.


TODAYS WEB PAGE:
Take a 5 min Helicopter Ride (Vancouver area) to watch some stunning photos.
At times, you feel like you are on the helicopter ….especially when it’s travelling fast and down real low!
Pictures of a BC Ferry coming into Horseshoe Bay, West Coast of Vancouver Island, Windmill on Top of Grouse Mountain and looking down to the City, Cruise Ship Centre, Stanley Park –the Seawall…Go to full screen! Take a look!

chopper ride

********

A short video about a young woman who shows great determination. Check it out: Determination


TODAYS QUOTE:
Talk low, talk slow and don’t say too much.

John Wayne

********

President Obama is the greatest hoax ever perpetrated on the American people.

Clint Eastwood


EXIT LAUGHING:
Two old Jewish men, Sid and Abe, are sitting in a Mexican restaurant one day.

Sid asks Abe, "Do you know if any people of our ancestry were ever born and raised in Mexico ?"

Abe replies, "I don’t know, let’s ask our waiter."

When the waiter arrives, Abe asks, "Are there any Mexican Jews?"

The waiter says, "I don’t know senor, I ask the cooks.

"He returns from the kitchen after a few minutes and says, "No senor, the cook say no Mexican Jews."

Abe isn’t satisfied and asks, "Are you absolutely sure?"

The waiter, realizing he is dealing with "Gringos" replies, "I check once again, senor," and goes back into the kitchen.

While the waiter is away, Sid says, "I find it hard to believe that there are no Jews in Mexico …..

Our people are scattered everywhere."

The waiter returns and says, "Senor, the head cook Manuel, he say there is no Mexican Jews."

"Are you certain?" Abe asks again.  "I just can’t believe there are no Mexican Jews!"

"Senor, I ask EVERYONE," replies the exasperated waiter.

"All we have is Orange Jews, Grape Jews, Prune Jews, Tomato Jews and Apple Jews, but no Mexican Jews."
********

A Greek and a Scotsman were sitting in a Starbucks cafe discussing who had the superior culture.

Over triple lattes the Greek guy says, "Well we Greeks built the Parthenon" and arched his eyebrows.

The Scotsman replies, "Well …  it was the Scots that discovered the Summer and Winter Solstices."

The Greek retorts, "We Greeks gave birth to advanced mathematics."

The Scotsman, nodding in agreement says, "Scots were the ones who built the first timepieces and calendars."

And so on until the Greek comes up with what he thinks will end the discussion.  With a flourish of finality he says, "The Greeks were the ones who invented sex!"

The Scotsman replies, "Aye, that is true, but it was we Scots who introduced it to the women!"


Have a Great Day, and be nice to one another.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

