This is one that took me by surprise. I turned on the computer, clicked the Thunderbird, my email client, and there is a bill from Apple for the purchase of 2 movies. I bought them today too, but for some reason, I do not recall doing so.

See, I don’t have any account with Apple, no password or anything, so the whole thing was impossible. Even if I did have an account, there never was a purchase made. That part made it easy. If you did have an account, you were gonna get scammed for sure if you replied to the email. And you know what, it would all look perfectly proper, until your bank/visa account was rifled!

There is a very convenient link at the bottom directing me supposedly to Apple for a full refund. I really don’t need a refund, since I didn’t order or buy anything from Apple.

So, I called them, here in Canada after finding the number on their legitimate web site, got to speak with a very nice young man, who went into some detail about having had a number of calls on this phishing site. He told me to forward the site and he gave me an email address to use to report this situation. For your information in Canada, the email address is “reportphishing@apple.com”. You can simply click Forward on your email, enter the address without the quotes and click send.

Had I clicked on the web site listed in the email, I would find myself redirected to a bogus site that would have asked for my bank account or visa numbers, and who knows what else could happen.

This is not an unusual thing, phishing goes on all the time, this one looked pretty good too.

DON’T GET HOOKED INTO ONE OF THESE SITES THAT LOOK OK, WHERE THEY ARE GOING TO ASK FOR INFOMATION. YOU WILL GET BURNED.


VIDEO OF THE DAY:

This is a very cool ad put out by the Volkswagen people, Being an old GM man I would have preferred it to be from GM, but the folks in the Black Forest scooped everyone with this ad. Take a look, it’s short: Volkswagen


QUOTE OF THE DAY:

I think it’s fair to say that personal computers have become the most empowering tool we’ve ever created.  They’re tools of communication, they’re tools of creativity, and they can be shaped by their user.

Bill Gates


EXI LAUGHING:

A farm kid joins the Marines

Dear Ma and Pa, I am well.  Hope you are.  Tell Brother Walt and Brother Elmer the Marine Corps beats working for old man Minch by a mile.  Tell them to join up quick before all of the places Are filled.

I was restless at first because you get to stay in bed till nearly 6 a.m.  But I am getting so I like to sleep late.  Tell Walt and Elmer all you do before breakfast is smooth Your cot, and shine some things.  No hogs to slop, feed to pitch, mash to mix, wood to split, fire to lay.  Practically nothing. 

Men got to shave but it is not so bad, there’s warm water.  Breakfast is strong on trimmings like fruit juice, cereal, eggs, bacon, etc., but kind of weak on chops, potatoes, Ham, steak, fried eggplant, pie and other regular food, but tell Walt and Elmer you can always sit by the two city boys that live on coffee.
Their food, plus yours, holds you until noon When you get fed again.  It’s no wonder these city boys can’t walk much.

We go on "route marches," which the platoon sergeant says are long walks to harden us.  If he thinks so, it’s not my place to tell him different.  A "route march" is about as Far as to our mailbox at home.  Then the city guys get sore feet and we all ride back in trucks. 

The sergeant is like a school teacher.  He nags a lot.  The Captain is like the school board.  Majors and colonels just ride around and frown.
They don’t bother you none. 

This next will kill Walt and Elmer with laughing.  I keep getting medals for shooting.  I don’t know why.  The bulls-eye is near as big as a chipmunk head and don’t move, and It ain’t shooting at you like the Higgett boys at home.  All you got to do is lie there all comfortable and hit it.  You don’t even load your own cartridges.  They come in boxes. 

Then we have what they call hand-to-hand combat training.  You get to wrestle with them city boys.  I have to be real careful though, they break real easy.

It ain’t like fighting With that ole bull at home.  I’m about the best they got in this except for that Tug Jordan from over in Silver Lake .  I only beat him once.  He joined up the same time as me, but I’m only 5’6" and 130 pounds and he’s 6’8" and near 300 pounds dry. 

Be sure to tell Walt and Elmer to hurry and join before other fellers get onto this setup and come stampeding in. 

Your loving daughter, Alice


Have a Great Day, and be nice to each other.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

