It was a while ago that I got one of the best video collections on a PPS format (Microsoft Power Point), and I told myself that I would blog it one day. Today was to be the day, BUT, it ain’t gonna happen. It seems there is no way that I can attach a PPS file to the blog, and have you show it on screen. Sorry, but about the only way you will see this is if I send it to you as an attachment on email.

So, lets continue with the blog. I read a piece the other day regarding funerals in general, and I suppose, by extension, my own. I have had a number of friends pass on recently, and the thing is this. I do not like funerals. I do not like going to them at all. This does not mean I have never attended a funeral, I have, but in recent years, I have avoided going except in the case of family or very close friends.

In the old days, when someone died, the service was simple. The church official, minister, priest, rabbi etc.  would say a few words, that usually included the 23rd psalm, a few words about the deceased, and everybody would truck off to the actual interment, where the final words were spoken, and folks would head back home or to someone’s home and tip back a cold one or two, and reminisce about the past.

Today, it is not the same. Often the deceased has not been in a church since he was married. There are a lot of family members or friends that have a burning desire to relate stories of old “Bob” as to when the kids tipped the outhouse on Halloween, or some other humorous episode. Some are painful o watch, some are tearful by the presenters, and I get real uncomfortable with that. So I just don’t go.

I don’t want one of those dog and pony shows for me when it is my time to go. Do what has to be done to keep the law away from the estate, go get some booze, have a party with a few (very few) close friends and family, have a great dinner and some drinks, and finish with telling a lot of lies about me.

I did read about a web site and I looked it up, on doing things like even writing your own obituary for the paper, and it has some merit. I suppose there are other sites available, but this one has some good ideas that may be for you, if you think as I do that it should be kept simple.

The site is called “Mywonderfullife.com” To go to the site click, wonderful


QUOTE OF THE DAY:

One life is all we have and we live it as we believe in living it.  But to sacrifice what you are and to live without belief, that is a fate more terrible than dying.

Joan of Arc


EXIT LAUGHING:

“Aspire to inspire before you expire”

SEX AT 89 I just took a leaflet out of my mailbox, informing me that I can have sex at 89 I’m so happy, because I live at number 87.
So it’s not too far to walk home afterwards.
And it’s the same side of the street.
I don’t even have to cross the road!

~~~~~

Answering machine message, "I am not available right now, but thank you for caring enough to call..
I am making some changes in my life.
Please leave a message after the beep.
If I do not return your call, you are one of the changes."
~~~~~

My wife and I had words, but I didn’t get to use mine.
~~~~~

Frustration is trying to find your glasses without your glasses.
~~~~~

Blessed are those who can give without remembering and take without forgetting.
~~~~~

The irony of life is that, by the time you’re old enough to know your way around, you’re not going anywhere.
~~~~~

God made man before woman so as to give him time to think of an answer for her first question.
~~~~~

I was always taught to respect my elders, but it keeps getting harder to find one.
~~~~~

Every morning is the dawn of a new error.

Have a Great Day, and be kind to everybody.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

