thI was sorry to read in the newspaper today that one of my old dependable favourites was about to bite the dust. It’s true, Microsoft is ending support of Microsoft XP as of April 8, 2014.

When I started using a computer it was 1992, and it was MS-DOS! One typed commands into the computer, and that executed to order to do what you wanted. This was superseded with Windows version 3.0, which was the first of what was to become a series of Windows operating systems. This allowed one to get away from the need to enter commands to make an application work. Much faster than DOS, since the window was linked behind the scenes to the DOS command, and at the same time errors in typing commands were eliminated. DOS (Disc Operating System) was most demanding. Accuracy was absolute and no deviation was forgiven.

So, we now had Windows 3.0, which was a nice start, but it behaved badly, and in short order it was superseded by 3.1. That one worked pretty well. Soon Windows 95, and successors followed all the way through Windows XP, and it came in 2001. It was by far the easiest to work with, and for the first time, we had a computer that was pretty fast, had good capacity, and most of all, it was not prone to crash. All the older versions of Windows crashed with regularity, often daily or more. XP was a breath of fresh air.

This version was followed in order by Vista in 2007, and it was actually a step backwards, and by 2009, Windows 7 came into being. This proved to be a very stable, and so it hardly ever crashed. If it did, a support format was built in to it that allowed you to revert your system to an earlier time when the computer ran well. Windows 7 has proven to be a workhorse for people all over the planet, both for business and consumer use. I have used it pretty much since inception and it still runs well.

Following that Windows 8 came into being in 2012, but was not well liked by users, and it was quickly updated to Windows 8.1 in 2013. It is user friendly again!

But getting back to XP, one can continue to use XP, but it will no longer have security updates, no longer have any free or paid updates of any kind.

So, what is a user to do? There are a couple of things really, but only one that will make any sense. You can try to install Windows 8.1 on your existing computer, but in view of the age of the rig you are currently using, it is not a solution I would use. With the increased speed, upgrades in the technology over the years, and having an operating system that will often, but not always, work with your old software, I would buy a new computer.

Sometimes it is time to say good bye to an old friend, and make a new one.


QUOTE OF THE DAY:

640K ought to be enough for anybody.
Bill Gates


EXIT LAUGHING

An atheist was walking through the woods.

‘What majestic trees!’ ‘What powerful rivers!’ ‘What beautiful animals!’ He said to himself.  As he was walking alongside the river, he heard a rustling in the bushes behind him.  He turned to look.  He saw a 7-foot grizzly bear charge towards him.

He ran as fast as he could up the path.  He looked over his shoulder & saw that the bear was closing in on him. He looked over his shoulder again, & the bear was even closer. He tripped & fell on the ground.

He rolled over to pick himself up but saw that the bear was right on top of him, reaching for him with his left paw & raising his right paw to strike him.  At that instant moment, the Atheist cried out: ‘Oh my God!’ Time stopped.  The bear froze.  The forest was silent.  As a bright light shone upon the man, a voice came out of the sky.

‘You deny my existence for all these years, teach others I don’t exist and even credit creation to cosmic accident.’ ‘Do you expect me to help you out of this predicament?’ ‘Am I to count you as a believer?’

The atheist looked directly into the light, and said: ‘It would be hypocritical of me to suddenly ask you to treat me as a Christian now, but perhaps you could make the BEAR a Christian?’

‘Very well’, said the voice.

The light went out.  The sounds of the forest resumed.  And the bear dropped his right paw, brought both paws together, bowed his head & spoke: ‘Lord bless this food, which I am about to receive from Thy bounty through Christ our Lord, Amen.’
************

A Church goer wrote a letter to the editor of a newspaper and complained that it made no sense to go to church every Sunday.  "I’ve gone for 30 years now," he wrote, "and in that time I have heard something like 3,000 sermons.  But for the life of me, I can’t remember a single one of them.  So, I think I’m wasting my time and the pastors are wasting theirs by giving sermons at all."

This started a real controversy in the "Letters to the Editor" column, much to the delight of the editor.  It went on for weeks until someone wrote this clincher:

"I’ve been married for 30 years now.  In that time my wife has cooked some 32,000 meals.  But, for the life of me, I cannot recall the entire menu for a single one of those meals.  But I do know this.  They all nourished me and gave me the strength I needed to do my work.  If my wife had not given me these meals, I would be physically dead today.” “Likewise, if I had not gone to church for nourishment, I would be spiritually dead today!"

When you are DOWN to nothing…..  God is UP to something!  Faith sees the invisible, believes the incredible and receives the impossible!
Thank God for our physical AND our spiritual nourishment!

Have a Great Day, and be kind to each other.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

