I have spent a lot of my time working with my hands or at a computer, and I have come to understand that some of the best tools or ideas are simple. The joy here is that they all perform in a manner they are supposed to. Let me state firmly that if I mention a product or brand, I own no stock in the company. I am not promoting the brand, just the concept.

Just a few days ago, I got an email from a buddy, describing a number of old, yes old, concepts for making computer handling easier. Some of these I had never heard before. I learned some new stuff, and I wish to pass it on.

COMPUTER RELATED

When looking at a long message either on the Internet or as an email, quit scrolling with the mouse! Just tap the space bar, the screen will move one complete screen. That is a great time saver. To go back to the the top, hold down the shift key and use the space bar. Try it, I think you will find it pretty neat! (This was one of the new ones for me). It works equally well on all computers and platforms.

So the screen you are looking at has either a font that is too big or too small. Try this. Hold down the control, and hit the + key for bigger print, or – to go smaller. You can also use the scroll wheel on your mouse to do this, hold down the control key and scroll the mouse wheel. This does not work on everything, but it is often worth a try.

Google and likely Bing can do this one. The search engine can act as a dictionary, type the word in the search panel, bingo there is the proper spelling. Type in your flight number it comes up telling you that it is on time, if you are lucky. It will also do temperature conversion, metric conversion, the list goes on.

This is one of my favourites. Single click or double click on the mouse. At least as far back as Windows XP, it was possible to go to a single click mouse. There are a number of advantages to this. One the mouse will last longer, two it is faster, three you will save a lot of wear and tear on your old arthritic fingers and wrist. In double click, your timing has to be right to get the double click to work. The first click in double click “Selects” the link, and the second click actually does the launch of the program. With single click, when the mouse pointer hovers over the link, the program is selected, and the one and only click will open the program. To make the conversion to single click, simply go to your Control Panel, find and click on Folder Options to open it. Then about half way down the little window, click on “single click” and back your way out. You are  done and can save that arthritic finger!

OTHER STUFF THAT WORKS

I scoffed for years about stuff that you rub on the outside of your skin, that would relieve pain. With the arthritis encroaching more every day, I got to try a product called Voltaren Amugel. It and several other products that come in a non smelly cream are generically called Trans Dermal Analgesics. And yes they do work! The work fast too. I am a convert. A stronger version is available from your doctor in prescription strength. It works! It’s inexpensive too.

For years we have flown whenever we needed, (there is no train or bus to Hawaii) and every time Joan and/or I would fly we would come down with some version of a cold about 7 to 10 days after the flight. When you are sitting strapped in to a metal tube with recirculated air, and your fellow flyers are hacking and coughing, plus you do use the on board loo, and handle those magazines in the seat back, you just have to know, you are going to get sick! I talked with a friend of mine who at one time flew for the airlines, flying DC 10, and 747’s what they did to avoid getting sick. He told me that they put Vaseline in each nostril, and voila, no more colds. It Works! I haven’t had a cold since I started doing it. A small amount like the head of an old fashioned kitchen wooden match is all you need in each nostril. A by-product of this procedure is that my nose no longer dries out, and I do not get the nosebleeds either.

Long before I reached my current age of **, I would wake at night, and I felt like I had sand in both eyes. This is quite common I found out with people who have reached some level of maturity. My ophthalmologist told me to try flax, either as an oil or ground up. I couldn’t tolerate the ground flax on my cereal, but the oil does a great job. Dry eye is reduced by a good 90% both for frequency and severity.  Not only that, it is a great source of Omega 3. It seems this was all found by accident when a study was done in Florida to see if flax would help in arthritis inflammation. The test group said it helped a bit with the arthritis, but it sure did a great job with their dry eye!

I have a few more things that I like and that work extremely well and I will do these at another time. For now though, I will leave you with a video of some smart phone tips you might just find useful. Phone and computer tips


QUOTE OF THE DAY:

There is no easy walk to freedom anywhere, and many of us will have to pass through the valley of the shadow of death again and again before we reach the mountaintop of our desires.

Nelson Mandela


EXIT LAUGHING:

I was eating breakfast at McDonald’s the other day with a friend and her 10 year old grand-daughter. 

My friend asked her grand-daughter, "What day is tomorrow?".
Without skipping a beat the little girl said, "It’s Prime Minister Day!"
She’s smart, so I asked her "What does Prime Minister Day mean?"
I was waiting for something about Harper or one of the past Prime Ministers.
She replied, "Prime Minister Day is when the Prime Minister steps out of the House of Commons, and if he sees his shadow, we have another year of bull s**t."
You know, it hurts when hot coffee spurts out your nose!

Have a Great Day, and be nice to one another

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

