MERRY CHRISTMAS

I have had the following write up concerning friends for years now, and I drag it out periodically and send it along to folks from time to time. I got a call from an old friend who I did business with starting back about 1970. We had lost track of each other for over 35 years, and I got a link from a guy I met during a cruise on the Panama Canal. We emailed a bit back and forth, talked on the phone from time to time. He has been having some medical problems in the past few months, and last night he called to chat and tell me that things were looking up, at least for now. He’s a great guy and it is always a pleasure to hear from him.

But last night, he asked me about another mutual friend that I had not seen or heard of for almost 40 years. I have known this guy since the mid fifties in Oshawa! I was embarrassed to have to say I didn’t know anything I could tell my friend. So, I promised I would do some digging, and see what I could find out.

I easily found a phone number, although he was not listed in the phone book, and I called him. Was I ever glad I did. We had a great time on the phone. He has had a few medical problems over the years, (like who hasn’t) and we kicked that around. I told him about our mutual friend, and we just talked and talked, kind of getting caught up. And the longer we spoke the more I thought about how important old friends really are. So, it was a no brainer to call up the short essay from my files and add it to today’s blog:

The Friend

Around the corner I have a friend,
In this great city that has no end,
Yet the days go by and weeks rush on,
And before I know it, a year is gone.

And I never see my old friends face,
For life is a swift and terrible race,
He knows I like him just as well,
As in the days when I rang his bell.

And he rang mine if, we were younger then,
And now we are busy, tired men.
Tired of playing a foolish game,
Tired of trying to make a name.

"Tomorrow" I say!  "I will call on Jim"
"Just to show that I’m thinking of him."
But tomorrow comes and tomorrow goes,
And distance between us grows and grows.

Around the corner!  Yet miles away,
"Here’s a telegram sir" "Jim died today."
And that’s what we get and deserve in the end.
Around the corner, a vanished friend.

I have always thought that the message in the piece was to the point, and terribly true. We, collectively put off these things until it is too late. So, today I hope I make a difference in somebodies life, and they pick up the phone and make the call. I know I did, and it meant a lot to me, and my friend. I will stay in touch with both of them. At our age we need all the friends we can get! They are getting harder and harder to come by. Amen.


QUOTE O THE DAY (2)

Walking with a friend in the dark is better than walking alone in the light.

Helen Keller
=================

A friendship can weather most things and thrive in thin soil; but it needs a little mulch of letters and phone calls and small, silly presents every so often – just to save it from drying out completely.
Pam Brown


EXIT LAUGHING

Have a Great Day, and be nice to one another.

Ross north-pole-smiley-emoticon

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

