As it was bound to do eventually, we got some snow here in Calgary. The fact is that we got a lot of snow, all in one dump and it is not over yet. We also had winds to 50 MPH with the snow causing major drifting. You don’t need much snow with winds of 50 to get big drifts. Our snow only amounted to about 6 inches, but the drifts are up to 4 feet in places. I cannot get out of my garage unless we get the drive shovelled. The snow there is a bit over 2 feet, but there are some bare patches too. It was hovering just above 0° F, so the snow was dry, the wind chill made it feel like 30° F below! The next phenomena was that since the snow drifted, the tumbling drifts snow packed very hard, so much so that you can almost walk on top of the drifts.

All the roofs in the area have no snow on them, the wind blew it all off, so since it has to be somewhere, it is piled up on the roads, making them even worse. Add to all this that some of our people have forgotten what is needed to drive in snow. Snow tires are a no-brainer, as I have pointed out in a previous blog, and learning to avoid that heavy foot on the gas pedal when starting out helps a lot too.

The upshot of all this is that, cars were getting high centered on the hardened snow and they got stuck. Some seemed to have been stuck overnight since the drifts were surrounding the car. It is now 9:00 am and it has stopped snowing, and the wind has dropped, but our snow removal people who normally are here by 7:00 am are nowhere to be seen.

I took a walk around our condo complex, and noted all the stuff that was happening, and I was reminded of a story I had read some years back about a person who kept a diary of their experience after moving to Michigan from Arizona, and looking forward to the encroachment of winter. Please forgive me if I have missed the odd cuss word, I have tried to edit it to clean up the prose. Give a read, it’s funny.

Living in Michigan But we love it, right?

August 12

Moved to our new home in Michigan. It is so wonderful here; Lake Michigan is magnificent. Can hardly wait to see snow on the trees.

October 14

Michigan is the most beautiful place on earth. The leaves are turning shades of red and orange. Went for a drive through the forest near Lake Michigan and saw some deer. They are so graceful. Certainly, they are the most wonderful animals on earth. Saw the sunset over the lake This must be paradise. I love it here.

November 11

Deer season will start soon. I can’t imagine anyone wanting to kill such a gorgeous creature. Hope it will snow soon. I love it here more each day!

December 1

5:00 PM It’s starting to snow. The first of the season and the first one we’ve seen in years. The wife and I took our hot buttered rums and sat by the picture window, watching the snow flakes drift down, clinging to the trees and covering the ground. It was soooo beautiful!

December 2

Woke up to find everything blanketed with white. It looked like a perfect picture postcard. We went outside and had a snowball fight (I won) Later, I shovelled snow for the first time in years and loved it I did both our driveway and our sidewalk. Later, a city snowplow came along and accidentally covered up our driveway with compacted snow from the street. The driver smiled and waved. I waved back and shovelled it again. What a beautiful place. I love Michigan

December 8

It snowed an additional 5 inches last night and the temperature has dropped to around 11 degrees. Several limbs on the trees and shrubs snapped due to the weight of the snow. I shovelled our driveway again Shortly afterwards the snowplow came by and did his trick again. Much of the snow is now brownish grey.

December 12

Warmed up enough during the day to create some slush which soon became ice when the temperature dropped again. Bought studded snow tires for the car Fell on my butt in the driveway, shovelling after the snowplow came through (for the third time that day) $145.00 to the chiropractor, but nothing was broken. More snow and ice expected.

December 13

More snow fell last night. I’ve got blisters on my hands from shovelling I think the snow-plow hides around the curve and waits until I’m done shovelling the driveway. What a schmuck!

December 25

Merry Christmas More snow. If I ever get my hands on that son-of-a-bitch who drives the snow-plow, I swear I’ll kill the bastard Don’t know why they don’t use more salt on the roads to melt the damn ice.

December 27

More snow fell last night. Been inside for three days except for shovelling out the driveway after that snow-plow goes through every time Can’t go anywhere, car’s stuck in a mountain of white. The weatherman says to expect another 10" snow again tonight. Do you know how many shovels full of snow 10" is?

December 28

The weatherman had his head up his fanny – we got 24" of snow this time At this rate, it won’t melt before the summer. The snow-plow got stuck in the road and that ill begotten child came to the door and asked to borrow my shovel. After I told him I had broken six shovels already, shovelling all the snow he pushed into the driveway, I broke my last one over his head I couldn’t find my ice axe to finish him off – it was buried under a snowdrift!

December 29

2 degrees outside. More snow. Not a tree or shrub on our property that hasn’t been damaged. Power was off most of the night. Tried to keep from freezing to death with candles and a kerosene heater, which tipped over and nearly burned the house down. I managed to put the flames out, but suffered 2nd degree burns on my hands and lost all my eyelashes and eyebrows. On the way home from the emergency room, I slid on the ice trying to miss a deer and almost put the car in Lake Michigan Totalled the car anyway against an iceberg – yes, an iceberg in Lake Michigan shoreline! I should have hit the damn deer and taken my chances Those damn beasts should be killed. Wish the hunters had killed them ALL last November.

January 4

Damn snow, it keeps coming down. Have to put on all the clothes we own just to get to the mailbox. Power still off. Toilet froze and part of the roof has started to cave in. Tried to take a pee outside and ended up with a dicksicle.

January 7

Sixteen more inches of snow, sleet, ice and who knows what else fell last night. I wounded the snowplow driver with the ice axe, but he got away. Wife left me. Car won’t start. I think I’m going snow blind. I can’t move my toes. Haven’t seen the sun in weeks. More snow predicted. Wind chill MINUS 22 degrees.

January 8

Moved back to Arizona. I can’t imagine why anyone in their right mind would ever live in that God-forsaken state of Michigan


QUOTE OF THE DAY

The first fall of snow is not only an event, it is a magical event.  You go to bed in one kind of a world and wake up in another quite different, and if this is not enchantment then where is it to be found?

J.  B.  Priestley


EXIT LAUGHING

tmbou070121_BoundAndGagged

Have a Great Day, and be nice to each other.

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

