!cid_DBD13E2C-0779-496C-9732-B4B18C5A6953November 11 is the Canadian Remembrance Day, when we take a moment to remember the veterans who served and who may have given their lives to keep our country free. There is a moment specifically designated to this remembrance. 11/11/11. The eleventh hour of the eleventh day of the eleventh month.

I am not aware as to what custom there is in other countries, but in Canada, it is customary to buy and wear a poppy. This is in keeping with the poem written in 1915 after the Battle of Ypres in France. I will offer the poem on November 11, but for now I will ask that you buy and wear a poppy to be worn from now until November 11.

Wonder where the money goes? Well, unfortunately too many of our military have small pensions or not enough pension to pay rent and feed themselves as well. I know it is shameful, that this is the case, particularly in light of our current fiasco where our committed senators are ripping us all off with unauthorized expense claims, and huge pensions when they quit, or even if they are fired! So to answer the question, the money goes to the Canadian Poppy Fund, and the money is used for among other things, a food bank to help with groceries for veterans and their families.So buy and wear a Poppy.

I am not comfortable with those nice little portable plastic donation containers that stores place beside the till. They often get ripped off by some low life, and what I have been doing is to call the Poppy Fund Food Bank, and give them a donation over the phone, they charge my credit card, I get a receipt for tax purposes, and I know the money made it to the right place. Go buy a poppy, put your looney in the collection box, and you can still wear your poppy with pride, knowing that a larger amount is working to help our vets.

In Calgary, their number is: 403 265 6304. They can use your help.

I also have a copy of a poem I copied a long time ago on this, I think you will enjoy reading it.

Please Wear A Poppy

"Please wear a poppy," the lady said

And held one forth, but I shook my head.

Then I stopped and watched as she offered them there,

And her face was old and lined with care;

But beneath the scars the years had made

There remained a smile that refused to fade.

A boy came whistling down the street,

Bouncing along on care-free feet.

His smile was full of joy and fun,

"Lady," said he, "may I have one?"

When she’s pinned in on he turned to say,

"Why do we wear a poppy today?"

The lady smiled in her wistful way

And answered, "This is Remembrance Day,

And the poppy there is the symbol for

The gallant men who died in war.

And because they did, you and I are free –

That’s why we wear a poppy, you see.

"I had a boy about your size,

With golden hair and big blue eyes.

He loved to play and jump and shout,

Free as a bird he would race about.

As the years went by he learned and grew

And became a man – as you will, too.

"He was fine and strong, with a boyish smile,

But he’d seemed with us such a little while

When war broke out and he went away.

I still remember his face that day

When he smiled at me and said, Goodbye,

I’ll be back soon, Mom, so please don’t cry.

"But the war went on and he had to stay,

And all I could do was wait and pray.

His letters told of the awful fight,

(I can see it still in my dreams at night),

With the tanks and guns and cruel barbed wire,

And the mines and bullets, the bombs and fire.

"Till at last, at last, the war was won-

And that’s why we wear a poppy son."

The small boy turned as if to go,

Then said, "Thanks, lady, I’m glad to know.

That sure did sound like an awful fight,

But your son – did he come back all right?"

A tear rolled down each faded cheek;

She shook her head, but didn’t speak.

I slunk away in a sort of shame,

And if you were me you’d have done the same;

For our thanks, in giving, if oft delayed,

Thought our freedom was bought – and thousands paid!

And so when we see a poppy worn,

Let us reflect on the burden borne,

By those who gave their very all

When asked to answer their country’s call

That we at home in peace might live.

Then wear a poppy! Remember – and give!

by Don Crawford


QUOTE OF THE DAY

“If you want to make peace with your enemy, you have to work with your enemy.  Then he becomes your partner.”

Nelson Mandela


EXIT LAUGHING
Remember, old folks are worth a fortune, with silver in their hair, gold in their teeth, stones in their kidneys, lead in their feet, and gas in their stomachs!

Have a Great Day, and be good to each other!

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

