The title of my blog is Potpourri meaning that it is a bit of anything that catches my fancy at the time. It might be a rant or it might be a rave. It might be funny or not so much. It could touch on any facet of what interests me at the time.

So, today, since I have been absent for a day or so, it is  time for a bit of catch up and look at some stuff that has occurred to me over the past few days.

Like this morning when I went to get the paper out of the post box on the front of our house. It was dark, darker that I thought it should be at 5:45, and then I realized that we are moving headlong into fall. In fact it felt like fall, we have experienced 2 complete months of summer already, at least on paper we have. We had a trace of warm weather last spring, and then it was summer, and we were surrounded by the threat of thunderstorms on a daily basis, and below average temperatures for days on end. Fall is definitely on the way, one can feel it in the air. When the sun comes up it has a fall like look to it, at least it does for me.

Looking at the gardens around here points out that we will be done with the plants pretty soon, The early perennials are done with flowers and are now just green, The annuals have taken on a look of being tired too. The have definitely passed their best before date. We are in a headlong rush into winter. In about 4 months we will have the Christmas tree up, and the presents all under it. Sorry for the reminder, but it is true. I just had a birthday, but in less than 3 months I will have another, my 80th. Where did the time go anyway?

I read a while ago, that life is like a roll of toilet paper, the closer you are to the end, the faster it goes!

It has been a bit busy around here lately, with gathering stuff for a short trip we have planned, bottling wine which still has to be completed, sitting at the hospital for few hours while Joanie had some day surgery done. (She’s fine) Visits with friends and a BBQ took some more, but that was all good stuff. Devising a system to keep the ants out of the garage, and putting that in place has grabbed a bit too. The garden has taken up some more time, as has the clean-up following the shingle replacement on or condo. So, those are some of the things that have kept me off line.

When we are away, I will have my laptop and will manage my e-mail and keep it under control on a daily basis, so that I don’t come home to 350 messages to deal with.


I caught a couple of sayings, truths, or adages you might be interested in, so I share with you.

“Never abandon an old friend. You will never find one who can take his place.”

“Friendship is like wine, it gets better as it grows older.”

I liked those, they have a lot of truth and are important.

Try this one on for size, it came from a piece I read in Hawaii: 
"After you die, things don’t mourn you, people do".
It is kind of in the same vein as above. I liked it anyway.

Another one I got locally I like too. it is anonymous. "When we come into this world, we cry and everyone else rejoices. When we leave this world, everyone else cries – but we rejoice"


“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things you didn’t do than by the ones you did. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbour. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover."

Mark Twain


Modern Technology

I was visiting my son and daughter -in-law last night when I asked if I could borrow a newspaper.

“This is the 21st century, old man, he said. ‘We don’t waste money on newspapers. Here, you can borrow my iPad.”

I can tell you, that fly never knew what hit it . . .and the look on my son’s face . . . . . . . . . Priceless!

Now go and have a Great Day!

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

