It has been a while since I posted some of the books I have read and enjoyed, so for no other reason than I can, I am posting some recent books and why I liked (disliked) them.

Right now I am reading and enjoying an older Harry Bosch story “Angels Flight” by Michael Connelly. The book is about a couple of people that were killed on a cable car device in Los Angeles. Harry is assigned to track down the killers. One of the people killed was a black lawyer who is going to court to clear a black man who has allegedly been abused by the police while in custody. LA is going into another Rodney King style riot mode.

The yarn is reasonably fast paced, with enough twists to keep one interested. As a Harry Bosch fan, I am enjoying the read a lot.

“Hour Game” by David Baldacci is a great story with more twists and turns than you can imagine. It is a great page turner.

“Last Man Standing” is a story by David Baldacci about a man who is a specially trained assassin, who has his courage questioned after a drug gang capture plot goes very badly. It too has a lot of Baldacci plot twists to keep your interest up and the pages turning. It has nothing to do with the Bruce Willis movie of the same name.

I tried reading “The Balkan Escape” by Steve Berry, but I was totally confused and gave it up quite quickly. If you are a fan of Berry’s you may like it OK. I didn’t.

Sue Grafton, another of my favourites did a nice job with “U is for undertow”. I enjoyed the story, but it ran a bit too long. Good yarn if you like Sue Grafton.

Nelson DeMille has written a number of books that I have read over he years, and this is one I had read a long time ago. I enjoyed the story, as I have with many of his other books. This one moves along very well, but I found one problem with it. I had to give up reading it before going to sleep. The adrenaline it produced was enough to keep me awake for a time after turning out the lights.

These are some of the books I have had a run at recently, that have given me a good read. You may have read some you liked. If so give me a heads up if there is one you particularly liked. I would like to hear about it.

Have a Great Day!

Ross Smile

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

4 responses »

  1. wow Angel’s Flight sounds like an intense book, something i will totally have to check out. Thanks for the post.
    http://thesisterhoodclub.wordpress.com

  2. Niamh says:

    Hello I am so delighted I found your web site, I really found you by
    error, while I was researching on Aol for something else,
    Nonetheless I am here now and would just like to say kudos for a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also love the theme/design), I don’t have
    time to read through it all at the minute but I have book-marked it
    and also added in your RSS feeds, so when I have time I will be back to
    read a lot more, Please do keep up the superb b.

    • techmech says:

      Hi Niamh, glad you liked the blog. Thanks for your comments. I love to read, mostly western, court dramas police action, well you get the idea. thanks again. Incidentally I do the blog mostly for my own enjoyment. rp

Leave a Reply

