The last couple of days have reminded me why, I do not choose to live on our west coast, or the interior for that matter. There are many reasons, such as no sales tax in Alberta, lower cost of living, for starters. Sure we get it cold here, but the sun shines like crazy! We do get snow in Calgary, but only about 4 feet per year on average. We are in a rain shadow of the Rockies where we live in Calgary. We very seldom get freezing rain.

But a lot of that changed over the past few days, we got fog, heavy fog, we got light snow, and freezing rain. We still got the same “no sales tax”, but the sun was gone.

I find that the fog can make me a wee bit testy, just a wee bit but if it goes on much longer, I am liable to get real cranky!

Due to the rather inclement weather, I decided that I would make this piece into a humorous one, might perk me up! The title of the blog, reminded me of the English friend of mine who took his girlfriend into the fog and missed. Bad, bad, I know, but they are not all gems!

Try these on for size: Open-mouthed smile

There are only two things to worry about.

Either you are well or you are sick.

If you are well, then there is nothing to worry about.

But if you are sick, there are only two things to worry about.

Either you will get well or you will die.

If you get well, there is nothing to worry about.

If you die, there are only two things to worry about.

Either you will go to heaven or hell.

If you go to heaven there is nothing to worry about.

But if you go to hell, you’ll be so damn busy shaking hands with friends you wouldn’t have time to worry!


I got this one a while back from Art & Marlene:

HOW TRUE IT IS

Another year has passed and we’re all a little older.

Last summer felt hotter and winter seems much colder.

 

I rack my brain for happy thoughts, to put down on my pad,

But lots of things that come to mind that make me kind of sad.

 

There was a time not long ago when life was quite a blast.

Now I fully understand about "Living in the Past"

 

We used to go to weddings, football games and lunches.

Now we go to funeral homes, and after-funeral brunches.

 

We used to have hangovers, from parties that were gay.

Now we suffer body aches and while the night away.

 

We used to go out dining, and couldn’t get our fill.

Now we ask for doggie bags, come home and take a pill.

 

We used to often travel to places near and far.

Now we get sore butts from riding in the car.

 

We used to go out shopping for new clothing at the Mall

But, now we never bother…all the sizes are too small.

 

We used to go to nightclubs and drink a little booze.

Now we stay at home at night and watch the evening news.

 

That, my friend is how life is, and now my tale is told.

So, enjoy each day and live it up…before you’re too damned old!


Have a nice day my friends, Ross

About techmech

Older type, enjoys computer, cruising, photography, fishing, travel, good food and movies

Leave a Reply

